Rather than using one post each week, I thought it best to show my latest work all in one post.

Inspired – as ever – by the always brilliant modelling of George Williamson, I placed an order for the Endon Valley transfers Talyllyn Railway water slide transfers. Now, George’s excellent video highlights an issue with the TR lettering on the brake van but I decided that,m I could live with that. After all, it was better than no transfers.

So, in a job that I spread over a couple of evenings modelling, I fixed the decals over the top of a satin varnish coat before leaving them to dry and reapplying the satin varnish. All very simple really. In fact, there was only one issue; the No.5 on the brake did not want to stick, so a coat of Decal Fix soon worked wonders here.

The transfers seem to coat the whole of the blue backing. I learnt it was best to leave the decals to lift from the paper first so I could manipulate it enough to hold the card with tweezers whilst being able to slide the transfer into place from the backing. Without this, the tweezers just held the card and transfer in place.

They weren’t the cheapest set of transfers, but they weren’t horrific. Likewise, I’ve used better sets of water slides, but again they weren’t bad. All in all, they were well worth it for the extra realism they’ve helped to achieve… and I’ve got loads left for other uses too.

One thing I should say; these were actually completed a while ago. On the day I posted about the open coach, my eldest son managed to get hold of it and gave it a little squeeze. The print shattered in the roof and roof support area. Gutted. There will be a post about the (hopefully successful) repair effort, when I can face tackling it!

In closing today, I must apologise for the yellow tinge the photos have over the next few posts. Life is currently very hectic and any time I get for modelling or taking photos for the blog is normally late on, with only artificial lighting. Hopefully they won’t take away your enjoyment of the blog too much.


Leave a comment