Was it really nearly two months ago when I first mentioned this?

When I first posted about this build, I mentioned the supplied roof was not going to be any use to me as it had warped and gone very flimsy at the edges.

So, I had to look around what I had and – lo and behold – I dug up several potential roofs. Some turned out to be too short, some were not wide enough and some were far too wide. Eventually, I settled on a roof that I think was taken from one of the Dundas open coaches. It was too long and a little too wide but it fit the curvature of the roof beautifully. I chopped an end off, slimmed the edges a bit and repeatedly offered it up to roof, fettling slightly when required until I was happy.

It’s not fitted yet, as I need to sort out some passengers. I’ve also fitted some glazing; nothing special just some recycled packaging (ModelScene sheep, I believe?). Like I said in early February, I’ve had to fettle this kit a bit but ultimately, it’s modelling and modelling is great!

In other news… today we’re heading out for our first steam trip of the year. Amerton are holding an Easter Egg and the combination of chocolate eggs and steam trains is one our four year old doesn’t want to miss!


Leave a comment