Modelling revelation time: Figure painting is a joy. An absolute joy. Who knew?

Not me, that’s for sure. I’d ordered the Modelu Hunslet cab crew quite a while back but had never fancied painting them. In fact, I’d absolutely dreaded it. They lay in my modelling box, unloved, neglected and forgotten.

A few weeks ago, I decided to bite the bullet. I wanted the crew for the cab of Dolgoch and so I reached a point of being unable to avoid putting it off anymore. First, I wafted primer over it before using Citadel Rats Skin Flesh as the base for the skin and dry brushing an off white over the skin.

The clothing was tackled with a Citadel blue, again dry brushed with the same off white in downward strokes, with a dirty black dry brushed on in upward strokes. Finally, I ran a thin wash over the figures and I was done.

Hugely enjoyable, surprisingly to me, and I have already taken delivery of more Modelu figures (a crew for Edward Thomas and a guard for van no. 5). The quality of the prints are absolutely excellent, I must say and I’m already looking forward to doing more figure painting work. Now, there’s something didn’t ever think I’d be saying!


Leave a comment